Public Service MENU

4-H Youth Development

West Virginia State University’s 4-H Youth Development is part of a community of over 100 public universities that offer experiences where young people learn by doing.  We have offices in Institute, Beckley, Oak Hill, and Forks of Coal and provide innovative educational opportunities for underserved youth in the areas of Agriculture, STEM, Healthy Living, and Civic Engagement.  Our programs are free, accessible, and stretch beyond the boundaries of traditional 4-H clubs by working with educators, schools, and community members to bring our curriculum directly to youth.  
 

Although we are always exploring new ways to address the evolving needs of West Virginia’s youth, we do have signature programs that have become staples of WVSU 4-H.  These include:
 

  • Junior Master Gardener

  • Sowing Young Sprouts 

  • Spanishlandia Language Club

  • School and Community Gardens 

  • Wildlife Education via the Claudia L. Workman Wildlife Center
     

We also have a large Lending Library for educators full of activity kits, sewing and art supplies, and curated STEM Discovery Boxes to supplement classroom materials.  Additionally, we work with schools to host themed Discovery Days that may include activity stations, our digital Star Lab, and our new augmented reality sandbox.  There is no cost for our Lending Library or services.

 

For more information on our programs or if you would like to invite us to your community, email 4H@wvstateu.edu

Facebook: WVSU 4-H
Instagram: @wvsu4h

Click here to sign up for our Newsletter.

 

 


 
 
 

Our Team

Sara
Sara Price
4-H Program Leader
(304) 766-5711
sara.price@wvstateu.edu
Vathani
Vathani Amarasingham
STEM Specialist
13049514031
vathani.am@wvstateu.edu
Crystal
Crystal Bishop
STEM Education Coordinator
(304) 252-6970
cbishop1@wvstateu.edu
Linzie
Linzie Farmer (Newman)
4-H Extension Educator (Beckley)
(304) 204-4325
linzie.newman@wvstateu.edu
Ana Karen
Ana Karen Gatica Toledo
4-H Extension Educator (Institute)
(304) 204-4378
agatica@wvstateu.edu
Samantha
Samantha Gilmore (Belcher), B.S.
4H Extension Educator
(681) 264-0236
samantha.belcher@wvstateu.edu
Eli
Eli Ghareeb
4-H Extension Educator
elias.ghareeb@wvstateu.edu
Fatima
Fatima Irfan
4-H STEM Educator
fatima.irfan@wvstateu.edu
Christine
Christine Kinder
Extension Educator
(304) 923-5820
christine.kinder@wvstateu.edu
Brooke
Brooke Phillips
4-H Extension Educator (Forks of Coal)
brooke.phillips@wvstateu.edu
Kim
Kim Smith
4-H Extension Educator (Forks of Coal)
(304) 932-7402
kimberly.smith@wvstateu.edu
Tiffany
Tiffany Ward
4-H Extension Educator (Beckley)
(304) 204-4339
tiffany.ward@wvstateu.edu

Students working on a 4-H project

summer programs:

 

Spanish Finders 

Ages 4-7 TBA

Participants will engage in Spanish language fun through stories, games, and music in this activity-packed, hands-on virtual camp! Camp is FREE and open to young learners. Parents are encouraged to attend with their children!  For more information, email Karen at agatica@wvstateu.edu
 

Click here for an application:

Link: <link>
 
Scroll to Top