About MENU

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Search

The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs plays a vital role in creating a compelling, shared vision for West Virginia State University and in developing creative initiatives that make this vision a reality. As the chief academic officer, the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, provides vision, leadership, and oversight for academic program administration and budget management; fosters the academic growth and development of programs, faculty, staff, and students; and strives to effectively advance the educational values, goals, and mission through collaborative alliances among the campus and community constituencies. Perhaps most importantly, the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs is a transformational leader ensuring a high-quality learning environment and student experience.
The successful candidate will have a proven record of successfully implementing and overseeing undergraduate, graduate and professional programs; and experience with strategic planning, online learning and effective use of educational technologies. The candidate will have demonstrated a strong commitment to innovation; student success and retention; faculty engaged research and scholarship, and embrace and promote the historic and stellar excellence of West Virginia State University.  As we seek our next dynamic leader, we are active with recruiting efforts over the next few months. We will host public forums and interviews with finalists in the fall, in anticipation of a potential start date around or soon after.
Our Human Resources has been involved in assisting the Search Committee with sourcing and recruiting a diverse, highly qualified candidate pool. I look forward to working with you in the days ahead to advance our university’s excellence and impact. In the meantime, if you have questions or would like more information about this search, please contact Mr. Justin Cherry, Assistant Vice President for Business & Human Resources at justin.cherry@wvstateu.edu or call 304-766-5224.
Best regards,
President Anthony L. Jenkins
Anthony Jenkins, Ph.D.


Meet the Finalists

image-up-arrowimage-down-arrowSearch Committee Members
Dr. DeNeia Thomas, Office of the President, Committee Chair
Dr. Yvette Underdue Murph, Enrollment Management and Student Affairs
Dr. Ali Ziyati, College of Arts and Humanities
Dr. Ginta Palubinskas, College of Business and Social Sciences
Dr. Mohammad Bhuiyan, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Mr. Peter Smith, Fiscal Affairs, Representing Staff
Dr. James Mickey Blackwell, Department of Education, Representing Graduate Programs
Dr. Barbara Liedl, Research and Development Corporation, Representing Research Faculty
Dr. Jeffrey Pietruszynski, Department of English, Representing Faculty Senate
Ms. Tosin Akinsipe, Graduate Student Representative
image-up-arrowimage-down-arrowSearch Process and Timeline
Search Process and Timeline
search process and timeline
image-up-arrowimage-down-arrowSEE ALSO

Search Process AND TIMELINE

  • November, 2019: Campus feedback and recommendation to the President. 
  • October, 2019: Finalist Invited for campus visit and presentation. 
  • August -September, 2019: Search Committee Members ranked, invitated Candidates for first round interviews. 
  • May 2-June, 2019: Search Committee Members evaluate and review candidate applications for consideration.
  • April 8-11, 2019: HR Search and Hire proess commence. 
  • West Virginia State University invites nominations and applications for the position of Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs.
  • Position posted to the WVSU Human Resources Page  Provost-and-Vice-President-of-Academic-Affairs.pdf
  • ‚ÄčApril 8-12, 2019: Establishment of the Search Committee. 
  • April 4, 2019: Annual BOG Meeting, WVSU Board of Governors formal acknowledgement of the Dr. Kumara Jayasuriya named as the 10th President for Southwest Minnisota State University.
  • March 22, 2019: President Jenkins Campus Message Congratulatory informational acknowledgement. 
  • March 20, 2019: Media Notiification from Southwest Minnesota naming, Dr. Kumara Jayasuriya as the 10th President, effective July 1, 2019.
Scroll to Top