Faculty Retention Committee Report for 2016-2017

Retention Committee Members

| Park, T.J. | 2 of 3* | BSS |
|-----------------------|---------|-----|
| Tillquist, Alan | 1 of 3 | BSS |
| Taylor-Johnson, Carol | 2 of 3 | АН |
| Gilliland, Steve | 3 of 3 | AH |
| Armstrong, Sonya | 3 of 3 | NSM |
| Ruhnke, Tim, Chair | 1 of 3 | NSM |
| Banks, Oree | 3 of 3 | PS |
| Mutepa, Rafael | 1 of 3* | PS |

Retention Candidates Considered

Faculty Member Department

Mohammad Bhuiyan Mathematics and Computer Science

Mickey Blackwell Education

Oliver Cruz-Milan Business and Economics

Zach Fitchner Art Joshua Martin Art

Linwei Niu Mathematics & Computer Science

Kerri Steele Criminal Justice Sherri Shafter Communications

Actions of the Committee

- November 17 The Committee finalize the choice of a Chair (Ruhnke), created a
 calendar for its work, portfolio evaluation methods, the move to digital portfolios,
 in addition to a discussion of the use of the new evaluation instrument for newer
 probationary faculty.
- January 20 The Committee met to consider recommendations for Retention Candidates. The Committee made recommendations on six candidates and deferred action on three candidates until portfolios were completed. Recommendations on these candidates were sent by the Chair via email. Hard copy was sent to candidates at a later date.
- February 3 Draft letters for eight candidates were forwarded to the Committee for review.

- February 7 Retention Candidates, Chairs and Deans were forwarded digital copies of retention letters. Retention portfolios were delivered to the Provost.
- March 28 Members of the Committee met to discuss the following items: retention process and status for Dr. Sanjaya, portfolio standards and digital portfolios, creation of a master list of probationary faculty, the use of the revised retention instrument for all probationary faculty and the pre-tenure review process. The Chair met with the Provost to discuss these items on April 4.

Other issues

Significant health issues prevented a probationary candidate from being part of the retention process for AY 2016-17. The Provost is aware of this issue.

Dr. Sanjaya is a Research Scientist, but was award tenure eligibility when hired. He will be part of the retention process and pre-tenure review next year.

Recommendations of the Retention Committee

- 1. Move to a digital portfolio submission process.
- Establish a process by which a "population" of scores on the revised evaluation instrument is created for a cross-section of WVSU faculty members over 2-3 years. These scores will serve as baseline data for comparison to scores for retention candidates.
- 3. Establishment of a multi-year calendar for retention candidates in order to avoid missing the third-year pre-tenure review.