West Virginia State University | West Virginia State University
 


Parking Permits

Cost:
Students:
  • $49 - One semester only
  • $68 - Spring and Summer
  • $93 - Annual Permit
  • $13 - Replacement 
Full-Time Faculty/Staff:
  • $111 - Annual Permit
  • $  13 - Replacement
Adjunct Professors:
  • $9 - per each course taught per semester
Temporary Employees/Other:
  • $49 - One semester only
With any of these permit options you may purchase an additional permit for $25 for an annual permit and $13 for one semester only.  The permit sticker allows one vehicle to be parked on campus at a time.

How to Get a Parking Permit:

Student/Faculty/Staff Parking Pass:

Please stop by the Parking and ID office located in 117 Ferrell Hall to purchase a parking permit. A current state vehicle registration must be presented to receive a parking permit.  No exceptions.

It is the responsibility of all students parking a vehicle on any WVSU property (on or off-campus) to be knowledgeable of WVSU parking regulations.  Click here for the Traffic and Parking Regulations booklet.   

Where to Park:
Students who choose to park a vehicle at any WVSU location are required to have a parking permit displayed on the vehicle (lower right side of the front windshield) at all times including evenings. With a parking permit, students can park in any general use white lined lots/spaces.

Temporary Parking Pass:
If a student has a current parking permit, but is unable to drive the vehicle that the parking permit sticker is attached to, they can get a temporary pass for the rental or other vehicle they are temporarily driving.  Temporary passes can be issued for up to 5 days.  These temporary passes are available in the Parking and ID office at no charge. 

Visitor Parking Pass: 
Visitor parking permits are issued to guests requiring campus access and parking.  A permit can be obtained at the WVSU Visitor Center (located next to the Ferrell House) on Barron Drive. Visitor parking permits must be displayed on the dashboard while the vehicle is on campus.   

Fines: 
WVSU is a permit parking only campus.  As such, if a parking permit is not properly displayed on the vehicle, a ticket will be issued.  The fee structure is as follows:
  • $  5 - 1st offense
  • $10 - 2nd offense
  • $15 - 3rd offense
  • $20 - 4th offense
  • $20 - each ticket after the 4th offense
  • $15 - “Boot” fee
    • WVSU Department of Public Safety will boot vehicles if unpaid parking tickets exceed $100 or more. 

The penalties of a parking violation applies to all students, staff, faculty, and visitors. No exceptions.

Appeals Process:
If anyone receives a parking citation and feels it is in error, they have the option of appealing the citation to the Parking and Appeals Committee for resolution.  To appeal a parking citation, it must be within 30 days of the violation, and all appeals must be filed online through the Campus Safety link.  If anyone has questions concerning the appeals process, he/she may email porterwh@wvstateu.edu.

 

©2016 West Virginia State University  |  P.O. Box 1000 Institute, WV 25112-1000  |  (800) 987-2112 | Mobile Site | Webmaster